Governor Murphy Signs Bill Raising Minimum Wage to $15
February 4, 2019
Governor Phil Murphy today signed legislation that will raise New Jersey's minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024.
The current minimum wage in New Jersey is $8.85 per hour. Under the new law, the base minimum wage for New Jersey workers will increase to $10 per hour on July 1, 2019. By Jan. 1, 2020, the statewide minimum wage will increase to $11 per hour, and then will increase by $1 per hour every Jan. 1 until it reaches $15 per hour on Jan. 1, 2024.
For seasonal workers and employees at small businesses with five or fewer workers, the base minimum wage will reach $15 per hour by Jan. 1, 2026. By Jan. 1, 2028, workers in these groups will receive the minimum wage inclusive of inflation adjustments that take place from 2024 to 2028, equalizing the minimum wage with the main cohort of New Jersey workers.
For agricultural workers, the base minimum wage will increase to $12.50 per hour by Jan. 1, 2024. No later than March 31, 2024, the New Jersey Labor Commissioner and Secretary of Agriculture will jointly decide whether to recommend that the minimum wage for agricultural workers increase to $15 per hour by Jan. 1, 2027, as specified in the bill. If they cannot come to an agreement, a third member, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, will break the tie. If there is a recommendation to disapprove of the scheduled increases or suggest an alternative pathway, the Legislature will have the ability to implement that recommendation by passage of a concurrent resolution.
For tipped workers, the bill raises the tipped wage from $2.13 an hour to $5.13 an hour. Under the law, workers must make the minimum wage when tips are included, otherwise the employer has to make up the difference.