Employment Law

Governor Murphy Signs Bill Raising Minimum Wage to $15
 

Governor Murphy Signs Bill Raising Minimum Wage to $15

Posted: February 4, 2019
Governor Phil Murphy today signed legislation that will raise New Jersey's minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024. Under the new law, the base minimum wage for New Jersey workers will increase to $10 per hour on July 1, 2019, and then will increase by $1 per hour every Jan. 1 until it reaches $15 per hour on Jan. 1, 2024.



NJ Governor Signs Sweeping Pay Equity Bill Requiring Employers to Justify Pay Differences
 

NJ Governor Signs Sweeping Pay Equity Bill Requiring Employers to Justify Pay Differences

Posted: May 30, 2018
The new law, which becomes effective on July 1, 2018, places very significant burdens on New Jersey employers of every size by creating the presumption of illegal discrimination where any employee in any “protected class” is paid less in wages and benefits than employees outside of that protected class performing “substantially similar work.”

Paid Sick Leave Now the Law in New Jersey
 

Paid Sick Leave Now the Law in New Jersey

Posted: May 25, 2018
New Jersey has now joined several other states in passing a paid sick leave law. The law preempts paid sick leave ordinances adopted by several cities and towns so there is now one uniform law in this area for New Jersey employers. Here is what you need to know about the new law.

  Learn More

View all events