CPAs licensed in the state of New Jersey are required to renew their license every three years per the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy.
Total CPE Credits
License renewal forms are scheduled to be sent to licensees by Nov. 2 and are to be renewed online by Dec. 31, 2023. If you do not receive a renewal form due to a change of address, see the information in the next FAQ below.
If you've moved in the last three years, update your address at newjersey.mylicense.com/eGov/Login.aspx. If you haven't changed your address and haven’t received a renewal notice by Dec. 1, email the board to request a renewal form via email.
The post office WILL NOT forward your renewal notice. Submit a change of address at newjersey.mylicense.com/eGov.
If you will not be completing the required number of credits by Dec. 31, 2023, you should consider placing your license in inactive status. If you erroneously requested an active license for the next triennial, contact the board immediately and request to change your license status to inactive. You should not hold yourself out as an active CPA or practice accountancy in the State of New Jersey if you have not complied with the CPE requirements. The board can impose severe financial penalties should you maintain your active license with a CPE deficiency.
Also, the licensee is primarily responsible for documenting the satisfaction of CPE. All 120 hours of CPE must be obtained from:
The New Jersey Society of CPAs is the professional organization representing the state’s CPAs. While the Society can provide guidance, answer questions and offer CPE courses, it is the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy that regulates the profession and is the regulator with respect to CPE requirements, license renewal or issuance, and any related penalties issued.
You should select the “inactive” option on your license renewal. You can then take the required number of credits and reapply for active status.
Yes, CPAs desiring to renew an active license must complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing professional education in each year of the triennial period. Even if you have more than 100 credits after the second year of the triennial and therefore require less than 20 credits in the final year, you must still earn 20 credits in the third year even if this would mean total credits will exceed 120.
Yes. Here's a breakdown of credits needed:
Reminder: if you took advantage of the extended deadline to complete CPE for your New Jersey CPA license renewal for the previous reporting period (2018-2020), credits taken between Jan. 1 and June 30, 2021, that were applied to the 2018-2020 triennial reporting period cannot also be counted for the 2021-2023 triennial, including credits in New Jersey law and ethics.
Each applicant for a triennial license renewal must complete a four-credit course on New Jersey Law and Ethics provided by a sponsor approved by the board. The NJCPA is an approved provider and offers ongoing Law and Ethics courses. Applicants are not permitted to fulfill the New Jersey Law and Ethics requirement via self-study.
New licensees are required to take the Law and Ethics course within six months before or after the date of initial licensure (refer to the “From” date on your license) and send a copy of the course completion certificate to the board within 30 days of attending the course. New licensees are not required to satisfy the remaining CPE requirements for the initial renewal of his or her license.
CPE sponsors must have a sponsor number with the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy or be approved by NASBA. To make sure the course you’re taking is by a board-approved CPE sponsor, you can do a search here. Select “Accountancy” under profession and “CE Sponsor” under License Type.
The board allows providers to grant credits at the rate of one credit for every 50 minutes of correspondence and individual self-study program participation. Self-study credits must be obtained through a NASBA-approved self-study provider. Effective September 2015, there is no limit to the amount of CPE that can be earned through self-study. However, the four-credit New Jersey law and ethics course must be taken through an in-person program or webinar by an approved provider.
Effective Jan. 1, 2018, nano learning is now accepted in New Jersey.
A full-time instructor or discussion leader isn’t eligible to obtain CPE credit for activities related to the licensees’ full-time employment.
For non-full-time instructors or discussion leaders, one CPE credit will be given for each 50-minute period of instruction. For the lecturer’s, instructor’s, discussion leader’s or speaker’s preparation time, there shall be two additional hours of CPE credit awarded for each credit hour of instruction. The instructor shall not be given credit for subsequent sessions in the same year involving substantially identical subject matter, except after one year, the board may give one additional credit hour for each 50-minute period of service for the initial presentation, provided the original material has been updated.
Complete your CPE requirements, and renew your license early. It is recommended that you renew your license personally and answer all questions honestly.